Warning – New domain pretending to be Microsoft could fool a lot of people!

Warning – New domain pretending to be Microsoft could fool a lot of people!

The campaign has so far targeted over 200 million Microsoft Office 365 users, including those working in the financial services, healthcare, manufacturing, and utilities industries. Users receive an email, purportedly from Microsoft, to test a new feature of O365 which states that it allows them to reclaim emails mistakenly marked as spam. When the user clicks the link, however, they are redirected to a fake Microsoft portal which requests they enter their credentials, which are then harvested by the attacker.

This is a timely reminder to always be vigilant and always check the email address of the sender thoroughly.

  • Always check the domain of the sender carefully: Micros0ft.com, MIcrosoft.com and Microsoft[.]com are not Microsoft domains.
  • If you are on a web page, look at the address in the URL bar – make sure it is the correct domain.
  • If you have clicked on a link and entered user information and password, report it to IS&T
  • Be extra vigilant on the run-up to Christmas of fake shopping sites that have been made to look like the originals

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.